Considering future happiness.   Leave a comment

MATTHEW 10:28
Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell
I have seen and hear too much lately about friends and loved ones who have passed away, in these last couple of months. Too much to not think about the day I may stand in front of my God and give account of my life.

Funny, it is not morbid as some would suppose, to think on death, it is after all “the next logical step” God is not going to leave us in this state where we are so prone to the sin and sickness of a fallen world. Heaven is a very really place since Jesus told us that, that is where He is and where we are going. ( Going to heaven is not the goal of the Christian life, that is where you go if you are committed to Christ!) Right now on my mind is the fact that too much time and energy has been wasted on frivolous things. I was reading through Thomas Watson’s book “a picture of a godly man” ( Puritan paperbacks) and he says quite simply that preparing for an eternity with God is the duty of every Christian” Why then are we so slack in this holy calling. I resent my lack of holiness and purity, I resent the fact that I am so prone to sin when I really don’t want too. And I resent the fact that I am far too tolerant of those who abuse and misuse the Lord’s name in vain. Speaking up is a costly business, but the other option is too terrible too consider. Not speaking up when the glofy of Christ is at stake! What does it matter what people think, when I know what I do is to live in holy obedience to Christ. Time is no one’s friend and it passes quicker by the day. Yesterday I was 17, today I am 47. What has happened to the years. What is left to say.

Ecclesiastes 12
13 Now all has been heard; here is the conclusion of the matter: Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man.
14 For God will bring every deed into judgment, including every hidden thing, whether it is good or evil.
I close this meditation at the end of this day with this thought.

It is better to be a doorkeeper in the house of our God than to dwell in the tents of the wicked.

It is better to bow the knee to our Sovereign God than to spend our days in futility.

Posted September 10, 2009 by Reformed and renewed in Devotional

Leave a Reply

