Psalm 91 A Meditation on mercy   Leave a comment

Psalm 91:
He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, ‘He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.’ … Because he loves Me,’ says the Lord, ‘I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges My name. He will call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him’ (vv. 1-2, 14-15, NIV).

There is something about believing in Grace that is wonderful, I know for sure, I do not deserve any of it, in fact I would consign myself to hell because I know that is exactly what I do deserve. I probably worry more than I should, and I find myself in a situation of despair rather than faith. But God who is so rich in Mercy, then speaks so clearly in His word to me and says very plainly.
Because he loves Me,’ says the Lord, ‘I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges My name. He will call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him….
I don’t know about you but I need rescuing all the time, I know in my heart of hearts that if God would leave me to my own devices I would be a devil and a scheming one at that. I do not trust my own heart because it is wicked and deceitful And that is a good place to be. I have despaired but probably not nearly enough. Who can know the wickedness of his own heart. Therefore I need God to rescue me, for I cannot do so in my own self.
I need God to protect me, for I have enemies that make war against my soul, enemies that lie in my very nature, my sinful nature, I hate those things that cause me to sin with a fierce hatred! Would be to God that I may be delivered form the sins that so easily besets me! I will acknowledge His name for in His name I have salvation. He is my protector of my soul, from the enemies within and without.
Then to have this confidence in prayer… He will call upon Me, and I will answer him; I actually cried when I read this. God will hear me when I call? Oh what as Saviour we have! And such a promise…. I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him….
Now I do not know about you but this holds true for me. I am in trouble on some level or another at least once a day. Not just people trouble, because that is hard enough. No trouble with my soul, for my soul still hankers after the world like some kind of sick puppy. Yet God has given this command..1 John 15 Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.
It is hard to let go of the world and its things when that is all we know. How I need to pray daily that the Lord delivers me from worldly wants and pleasures. But this is the confidence of faith.

Hebrews 10:35
35 So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded

What I am not able to do in my own strength God does for me and in me. This is my confidence. And this is my hope.
I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him’ (vv. 1-2, 14-15, NIV).
I believe that is a good place to be. At the foot of the cross. Needing my Saviour and giving Him glory for His help in everything I do. For apart from Him I can do nothing.
Sola Gratia, Sola Chrsitos, Sola Deo Gloria

Posted September 15, 2009 by Reformed and renewed in Devotional

Leave a Reply

