Come to Christ and come in Prayer   Leave a comment

Almost 500 years ago, John Calvin commented on Zechariah 13:9, and what he said then is more true today: It is therefore necessary that we should be subject, from first to last, to the scourges of God, in order that we may from the heart call on him; for our hearts are enfeebled by prosperity, so that we cannot make the effort to pray. (Commentary on Zechariah 13:9 [Baker, 2003], 403, emphasis added)
Zechariah 13:9, In the whole land, declares the LORD,two thirds shall be cut off and perish,and one third shall be left alive.9 And I will put this third into the fire,and refine them as one refines silver,and test them as gold is tested.They will call upon my name,and I will answer……

I wonder how many have felt the drawing of the Spirit of God as you take time to read God’s Word. For me it is like a refreshing, an enriching of some like water on a dry and parched land. I often wonder especially lately how come when I first put my faith in Christ. I seemed so full of enthusiasm and so void of knowledge. .It took suffering to purge a lot of worldly desires out of me and I am not stupid enough to say “I am all done now” I am far from done, I feel wholly inadequate when I come to God’s Word and see how much I lack. .I see many take the broad road and make themselves happy in it, and I would but among them on my way to eternal fires but for the grace of God that has kept me from many evils. One thing I do not doubt is my inner depravity. I do not doubt for one minute that my heart is evil and I need the blood of Christ to heal it and regenerate it. Like Christian in Pilgrims Progress ( by John Bunyan).I have wandered off onto many diverse and wonderful paths that all lead away from God’s Word, but like Christian I have come back to God’s Word and back on the path. I fear one thing still and that is that my evil inclinations may yet draw me away, but I make myself happy in the Word of God and I stay on the path and I stay my eyes on Jesus who alone is able to save my soul. Friend if you read this and you are far away from God. Flee! For the wrath of the Lamb is to come and run way from those things that would damn your soul. Run like a crazy man every time you see sin on the horizon, for it will not tamper with you lightly. but eat you up alive.Rather fall into the hands of a Compassionate Saviour than in the hand of the world, the flesh or the devil. Rather be consumed by God than take pleasure in sin for a season. It is better to suffer hardship now than to suffer it eternally. Flee, I plead with you as I plead for myself. Flee from the Wrath to come.! Call upon Christ and call upon Him often, and surely He will pull you like a brand from the burning.

Posted October 19, 2009 by Reformed and renewed in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

