Be care about rebuking a mocker…   Leave a comment

Proverbs 9:8 Do not rebuke a mocker m or he will hate you; rebuke a wise man and he will love you.

I have not many folks who endure criticism. Not of any kind. There was a time I would like a foolish boy say “ hey you mind your manners”… that I tell you sets of many a mild mannered man. No one bear correction easily. How about this one for a real humdinger…”Friend are you saved, and how do know you are saved” That evokes all kinds of responses too.
Not too long ago I would have been offended if you had asked me that but now I rather get on my knees and examined my heart. I find the Bible to be a very searching mirror. It makes me see my sin for what it is.
I would hate to be the person that thinks he is above correction, and although I do not have many counselors ( or friends for that matter) I have found in reformed writngs of days gone past a masterful eloquence when it comes to speaking to the soul
I have felt the backlash of trying to correct someone when they are not open to correction and it is a wicked hurtful thing. Truly correct a mocker and they will hate you, I find myself in a secular workplace, and on occasion the Lord’s name is used in vain (something I hate to hear) so I get up and say “ are you praying or having a religious experience?” use my name for a cuss word not the Lord’s name. That I tell you evokes anger. People don’t want to be corrected on any score. Too many have too high opinions of themselves. God help me that I never esteem myself more than I should, a mocker corrected is an enemy gained.
I don’t take easily to correction either, I know it is a sin, that I need to repent of often. But I would rather be corrected than perish eternally.
Pr 9:12 If you are wise, your wisdom will reward you; if you are a mocker, you alone will suffer.”
Mmmm. This too I have experienced. The foolishness of self righteousness. I too have sat in the seat of the mockers and too withstand correction will eat away your soul. I plead with you and with myself that we sin not against Christ, our greatest good in this way, it is after all only sons, that the Lord disciplines. The rest are left too their own devices. I would rather listen and I would plead with you dear reader to do the same.

Posted October 20, 2009 by Reformed and renewed in Absolute Thinking

Leave a Reply

