Why I am reformed.   Leave a comment

Proverbs 10:23 A fool finds pleasure in evil conduct, l but a man of understanding delights in wisdom.

Sin is stupid. I know I have indulged in stupidity long enough. Currently I am by the grace of God trying to remedy my stupidity by going through the book of Proverbs. Truly God has been good to me. I have not been of the reformed faith all that long. Dabbled in Mysticism, swung from the chandeliers with the charismatic’s and when I got tired of it all went to the movies. Religion outside of the scriptures is tiring. I have wanted for a long time now just to sit down and explain to myself if not to anyone else why I am Reformed, and why the Calvinist point of view has so drawn me.
Well first of all it has bought light to my eyes. I am seeing scripture like I have never seen it before. And that is the first point I want to make too.The Sola scriptura has an appeal for me because quite frankly experiential faith like mystic practices and works, while they keep you busy also keep you confused. It is my firm conviction that the Bible is the very Word of God ( whether its in the English, Hebrew or Greek) It is the Word and revelation of God and I don’t have to go anywhere except to this Book. It is a relief. No more ambiguous uncertainty.

Sola Fide A blessed hope fixed on the firm foundation Jesus Christ as reveled in the Scriptures. God designed a book for people like me, who lack wisdom. I want to stop being supid and if you are wise you will too. Stupidity causes pain and unsound unbiblical teaching cause pain.

Sola gratia. All of grace. As John Newton said “ Amazing Grace how sweet the sound that save a wretch like me. Well that’s me a wretch. I didn’t used to like being called a wretch but now I understand, I am a wretch. I have a depraved wicked heart that will lead me to hell if I leave it unguarded.

Sola Christos. Christ Alone, saves. No mystical experience needed no added works, no law keeping or working for salvation. It is the merits of Christ and the merits of Christ alone that saves me. I am absolutely and unashamedly helpless and declare myself so. It is God who gets the glory and I get the help. Christ alone is the way to the Father. No other way.

Soli Deo Gloria. There you have it. John Piper says “ God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him” My satisfaction must not come from anything else but from a delight in the person and being of God. When I delight in Him for His own sake, then I share in His happiness. God gets the glory for saving me and I get the help. It does not get better than this.

This is why I have pinned my hopes on reformed teaching, nothing brings me closer to the sovereign majesty and Glory of God. Nothing explains scripture more clearly and nothing shows me better myself in my true nature and God in His.

So I have hopefully stopped being stupid. Stop stupid. Don’t sin. Delight in God as your treasure.
Carpe Diem

Posted October 22, 2009 by Reformed and renewed in Absolute Thinking

Leave a Reply

