Our Christian Boast and Duty "To Know God"   1 comment

Jer 9:24 but let him who boasts boast y about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD, a who exercises kindness, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these I delight,” declares the LORD

I have often wondered, how may one know the Lord? How may any one person, be in a relationship with Him who made the stars by their billions, and call them by name, and I have come to the conclusion that God cannot be known by any means unless he chooses to reveal Himself by the means He chooses. Mostly God makes Himself known by His Word.
The Bible has this claim for itself.
2Ti 3:16 All Scripture is God-breathed d and is useful for teaching, e rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness

How shall I not converse with my Maker when he has designated that I should listen to His Words that do not fail or pass away. Reading the Bible is a vital part in interacting with God. In it we learn, who God is, What He is like, what we are like and how we are to relate with Him. Many do not take time to do this, but there are no other means to know God, unless we hear first what he has to say first. This verse in Ephesians has always puzzled me

Eph 5:18B.,” be filled with the Spirit.” “

Ok it is only part of the verse, but what does it mean to be “filled with the Spirit?” In my wild charismatic days, it meant something like this, “pursue spiritual experience, speak in tongues and listen to the still small voice to guide you”
In subsequent years none of this seems to have been good counsel and only led me down a path to mysticism. So how is it that I may “know God and understand Him” Because God is hidden from those who seek him by any human means or effort and the best they end up with is a distortion of who God is and what he has to say to us.
Well the Bible is not silent here either
Tit 2:1 You must teach what is in accord with sound doctrine.

Sound doctrine is the teaching f scripture as it is intended to be read and understood. So many hate the word “Theology” but actually the Word means “Theos” God- and “Logos” Word- Word or reason. That is the sum total of Theology. Reading, meditating and understanding God’s revelation about himself. Any Christian who does not do this will remain in error or even worse remain and unbeliever because of false teaching and perish. So this is not an option. If we are goin to “Know God” as he wants us to know Him. We have to do so by His appointed means.
So what is there to boast about then? We can boast about this. Jer 9:24 but let him who boasts boast y about this: that he understands and knows z me, that I am the LORD,And if this is true in our faith and experience then we may rest assured, for we will know God for who His, and we may know for certain that that he is who He says he is.
I am the LORD, a who exercises kindness, b justice and righteousness c on earth, for in these I delight,” declares the LORD

Posted December 15, 2009 by Reformed and renewed in Uncategorized

One response to “Our Christian Boast and Duty "To Know God"

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think I should listen to my own advice.

Leave a Reply

