A Meditation on True Repentance…   Leave a comment

Repentance says what I did was wrong in God’s eyes, and merits Hell. Repentance utterly damns the deed, it puts it to death and buries it with no gravestone and no flowers, and repentance turns one from the deed and from everything that gave birth to the deed. (Thomas Watson)
When our Lord and Master Jesus Christ said, “Repent” (Mt 4:17), he willed the entire life of believers to be one of repentance. (Martin Luther)
I for my part, live in this dread of God Almighty who sees all His creation, all at once all the time. There is no place that God does not see, the lower reaches of hell does not escape His gaze neither do the densest jungle or deepest ocean. We live in plain sight of God who sees. Yet we do not see, our sight is but a blurry vision and as far as the most important part of anyone’s life, we mostly miss it.
We do not see our sin as God sees it, because we do not see even clearly inot what He has given us to see. His Word. Prophecies and miracles is what we want to feast on, spiritual experiences are a blessing indeed but they cannot sustain a life. I despair deeply when I consider how unable I have been to measure up to the standard of the Almighty. I see the sinfulness of my sin, but not nearly enough. The heart is indeed an abyss where sin lives and I despair of it, my own heart I find unreliable, untrustworthy to give me good news. It is only in God’s Word I find some hope and comfort. Did he who spoke it not also create the worlds and sustains them by the very word of His power.
I must say with Watson, what I did was wrong in God’s eyes, and merits Hell. Why should I wonder about calamity? Should the Lord who dwells in Holiness look upon a vile sinner? How can I expect Him too?
Yet that is what he did. He “saw” me. In my sin and in my inability to serve Him and bring praise to Him. He saw me, and had pity on me. He opened my eyes to see that my sin is indeed laid upon Jesus Christ and the Jesus took the full wrath of God due to me for my sin, upon Himself. This I find difficult to comprehend and take its full meaning into my heart. It is a truth so glorious my mind cries out “ no you can’t do that!” I don’t deserve it! Yet in my stead he died and took the full punishment for what my sins deserve. This is the Gospel. Christ died for the ungodly, unlovely and ungrateful. Christ was bruised by God to vindicate His name and punish sin and injustice in all its forms.
It is neither safe nor clever to think I can by any merit f of my own make myself acceptable to God in some way, it is not safe to persist in sin as a habit and it is not safe to keep myself in ignorance of His word. The only safe place is in the Redemptive sacrifice of Jesus, and in the communion of His saints who patiently endure and persist in love and brotherly kindness, fixing themselves firmly in the hope of redemption , making it a practice to confess sins to God and run to Him and not away from Him. He knows our frame and He knows what we are truly like. The persisting in repentance, as a means of grace is a glorious act of trust in the firm hope of God’s deliverance, which in the fullness of time will be revealed to us as more glorious than our temporal lives now allow us see. Our hope is built on nothing less than Jesus blood and righteousness
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand

Posted January 14, 2010 by Reformed and renewed in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

