A Word in time   Leave a comment

Tell me, you vain professor, when did you shed a tear for the deadness, hardness, unbelief, or earthliness of your heart? Do you think that such an easy religion can save you? If so, we may invert Christ’s words and say, ‘Wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to life, and may there be that go in there.'” -JOHN FLAVEL

My greatest fear is that I may be found out to be some kind of hypocrite, a false professor an “almost Christian”, and one that has sought not God, for His own sake, but for my own ends. That is what I dread. My own heart I cannot trust, God’s Word is my only light. “Wide is the gate indeed” Satan does not care if he gets a soul to hell by poetry or by outright evil living. The hypocrite will have the same end as the devil worshipper. O how I would give to be more like Christ!

Yet I am overwhelmed by the sheer depth of my depraved and corrupt hear. Who can save me from this body of death? Some say this is negative talk, but how can I be happy if my happiness is costing someone else theirs? I find myself shallow and I really do not trust my own heart to tell me the truth. No the truth must come from God’s word and light upon my soul so I am fed and comforted and can rest content upon the merits of my saviour. Christ must have my all! Yet I have been so slow to give it…Spurgeon has had this comfort for me for This is me Mr Spurgeon has been talking to lately..

Trembling sinner, look to Jesus, and thou art saved. Dost thou say, ‘My sins are many’? His atonement is wondrous. Dost thou cry, ‘My heart is hard’? Jesus can soften it. Dost thou exclaim, ‘Alas, I am so unworthy’? Jesus loves the unworthy. Dost thou feel, ‘I am so vile’? It is the vile Jesus came to save. Down with thee, sinner; down, down with thyself, and up with Christ, who hath suffered for thy sins upon Calvary’s cross. Turn thine eye thither; see Jesus only. He suffers. He bleeds. He dies. He is buried. He rises again. he ascends on high. Trust Him, and thou art safe. Give up all other trusts , and rely on Jesus alone, alone on Jesus, and thou shalt pass from death unto life. This is the sure sign, the certain evidence of the Spirit’s indwelling, of the Father’s election, of the Son’s redemption, when the soul is brought simply and wholly to rest and trust in Jesus Christ, who ‘hath once suffered for sins, the Just of the unjust, that He might bring us to God.’” – C.H. Spurgeon, Our Suffering Substitute: A Sermon on 1 Peter 3:18.

Posted January 22, 2010 by Reformed and renewed in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

