A New Creation in Christ   Leave a comment

2 Corinthians 5:17-19b
Therefore if anyone is in Christ he is a new creation, the old has gone the new has come, all this is from God who reconciled us to Himself and given us the ministry of reconciliation, that God was reconciling the world to Himself in Christ not counting men’s sins against them.
Any good Calvinist will give me a hearty Amen to this. Because in this text is the good news that “God in Christ is not counting our sins against us” This makes me wonder in amazement that God would do this. Who can fathom how God who dwells in absolute holiness and purity can receive a vile sinner. ( something I qualify as) Christ dying in my stead and taking the wrath of God due to me for my sin. And I find myself asking, how can it be? There is something to high for my mind to grasp since I see my sin clear as day, every day. I find that Christ to me is exceedingly lovely and my sin makes me exceedingly vile, and this makes all the more gloriously precious the gift! It is God who is both just and the justifier of many, this is the mystery that escapes the mind steeped in self effort and self interest. My first reaction has been , well then since God has done this for me, what can I do for God? Yet this is not so. It is God who begins the work and also finishes the work. In that my faith must rest. It is a shameful human nature that things it can add a fig leaf to hide the guilt and shame. God has reconciled those who believe in Christ as their all sufficiency. It is not easy to let go of the self help version of Christianity. This was the pain of my days as an Armenian, in both Pentecostal holiness, and Methodist churches. I had piety but no power, no overcoming life just more guilt. And to top that of, some “spiritual disciplines” None of which made me right before God. How can the means make me right before God? It is only Christ who makes me right before God. The means are good and well but are not to be an end in themself.
I glory in simply this. That Christ has died for my sins according to the scriptures. And that is the beginning and end of it.

Posted March 4, 2010 by Reformed and renewed in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

