To be or not to be?   Leave a comment

There is simply just not enough time to “just be” these days. The sentiment of many. But is “just being” not just another way of saying “if I had the time or the inclination I would go off and do my own thing.” Oswald Chambers once said that man only comes to himself in times of crisis. Man only comes to God when he has worn out his own resources. I think he has a point. I kind of followed the same path. With no restraints we are prone to wander and do just what we please. The hymn writer had it right

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

That is the way of the heart, prone to wander. I find myself quite often doing just that when I forget one day to read the Scriptures, or to pray, Or to” connect” in some with the Grace I know sustains me. I am not optimistic about human nature either by Theology or experience. In fact also in the words of Oswald Chambers’ The only opinion a man can have legitimately, when he is apart from God is pessimism “

Futility is what the creation has been subject to. And that by God. Just so that man may learn that all his achievements apart from God amount to nothing. Very much what Francis Schaeffer said 30 odd years ago. “Man using himself as a point of reference is an exercise in futility” Why is the heart so stubborn and rebellious? Or is it just me? To “just be” or to “chill” or whatever the new turn of phrase is, means to “gratify myself and live in the moment” eat drink and re-marry for tomorrow we die! What utter foolishness to think that while we live as we do in the “Coram Deus” In full view of God, we may do as we please. It is in fact this very thing that restrains me from many evils, I know this, I know I am “Prone to wander” it really is much too easy to be distracted. My worst time is probably driving home from work, I am tired my brain is feeling flat, and my feet are sore. The devil knows our weak spots, and I got to watch myself especially at times like that. “just being” might mean many things. Quite frankly I think the whole idea of “just being yourself” is overrated. In the words of Luther “ I have found the enemy and it is I! I am not huggable or lovable ( maybe in my better moments, but quite frankly, I would not esteem myself too highly)

For me to live has to be Christ. There is no other life or being in anything else. And it really does not matter what Oprah or anyone else says about self esteem. It has to be Christ! He must be my treasure. I must conclude with the Hymn writer.
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

Posted March 4, 2010 by Reformed and renewed in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

