The gift of mystery   Leave a comment

Isaiah 53
But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed.

I consider many times, in my prayers and in my reading. Why would God condescend to us? Why would God who has no need of anything, consider man, in general or anyone in particular. One of the Psalms that I have read that has stuck with me the most is the a bible verse from Psalm 50, where God says “ If I were hungry I would not tell you, for the world is mine, and all that is in it.”

Now that is sovereign. And it is glorious. So why would He condescend to us? I used to have my religion in all nicely wrapped up. God did something for me, I would do something for God. But that does not fit with the bible. God is the gospel, there can be no add-on. Mystical prayers and spiritual gifting sure have a place. Being somewhat of a Calvinist mystic ( yeah there is a thing like that) I have had as my vision of God one who is hidden in profound mystery. I did nto know for certain that anything was certain. The only thing that was certain was that God was absent. I often prayed that “I might see Him but in terms I can understand” I guess that is still my prayer.
But then I see Jesus, and I see Him in the gospels talking to ordinary people. I see Jesus taking the sins of ordinary people on the cross. And I am left totally amazed. Its like the performance factor in my religion is taken away when I look to the cross. I see my substitute. Taking the punishment due to me for my sins and failures. In my place condemned he stood. Now if that is not a mystery then nothing is. Luther is reported to have said when he was still a monk trapped in his monkery. “I need a merciful God!” And his spiritual mentor said” Then look to Christ!” So must you and so must I. Look to Christ! Look to Christ!.

For this is His gift to us. But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed. See this mystery. Behold this mystery and see how great work Christ has done for thee.

Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
Let me hide myself in Thee;
Let the water and the blood,
From Thy wounded side which flowed,
Be of sin the double cure;
Save from wrath and make me pure

Posted March 5, 2010 by Reformed and renewed in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

