A Slice of Spurgeon   Leave a comment

Why Should God Save?

by Charles Spurgeon

“There is no other reason why God should save a man, but for His name’s sake, there is nothing in a sinner which can entitle him to salvation, or recommend him to mercy; it must be God’s own heart which must dictate the motive why men are to be saved. One person says, ‘God will save me, because I am so upright.’ Sir, He will do no such thing. Says another, ‘God will save me because I am so talented.’ Sir, He will not.Your talent! Why thou drivelling, self-conceited idiot, thy talent is nothing compared with that of the angel that once stood before the throne, and sinned, and who now is cast into the bottomless pit for ever! If He would save men for their talent, He would have saved Satan; for he had talents enough. As for thy morality and goodness, it is but filthy rags, and He will never save thee for aught thou doest. None of us would ever be saved, if God expected anything of us: we must be saved purely and solely for reasons connected with Himself, and lying in His own bosom. Blessed be His name, He saves us for ‘His name’s
sake’” (The New Park Street Pulpit, Vol.3, p.69-70).

“[The truth of God doing all for His name’s sake] opens a great door for sinners. Now, do listen to this.
Perhaps there is one here who says, ‘I am so guilty; I am so unworthy; I am so vile, that God cannot save me on account of anything in me. I am everything that I ought not to be.’ Stand to that, brother. Tire not there. You have a hold of the truth this time. ‘Then why should He save me?’ you ask; ‘it cannot be because of any use that He can make of me; for I am ignorant; I am obscure; I am weak-minded; God can never get much out of me: He cannot save me for the sake of that.’ But look, sir, He can save you that He may make a great name for Himself; for if He pardons you, a great sinner that will bring great praise to His mercy. If He changes you, who have been desperately set on mischief that will bring great credit to His power. If He takes you who are so insignificant and obscure, that will clearly show the greatness of His condescension, and the wondrousness of His love” (The Metropolitan Tabernacle Pulpit, Vol.37, p.573).

Posted March 30, 2010 by Reformed and renewed in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

