Taking Courage from a Glorious Future hope   Leave a comment

Eye has not seen, nor ear heard,
Nor have entered into the heart of man
The things which God has prepared
for those who love Him.”
1 Corinthians 2:9

This is the kind of text one can build a hope one, looking beyond the immediate trails and sufferings to Christ who has said “Come unto Me all ye who are weak and heavy laden” And “ he who Comes to Me I will in no wise cast out” I am continually astounded and amazed at the immensity of this gospel, which I now call “my gospel” The fact that Jesus did not just die for everyone in general but for me and you specifically. This is the hope I rest myself on this day. God has prepared something glorious that will outstrip all our current perplexities and sufferings. I am much encouraged by this.

For it is a promise that there is no full stop when this life is over, there is a hope that we will live from glory unto glory, Oh to just sit at of the feet of Jesus and learn, that has to be heaven. If Jesus were not in heaven, than I would not want to be there either. This is life eternal, that I may know Him, and fellowship with Him, with this in mind I set it before myself as I set it before you that no more are we to do what we do as something different but do what we do as unto the Lord.

This is personally for me a big challenge, my generation still has the hankering to live as ones cocooned in the safety of their little nests, if we live with eternity in mind is the time we spend here not meant to be spent for the good of others? God has something much better in mind for us than, a new car a nice house or even a comfortable life. If that is as good as one can hope for then we are of all people most to be pitied. No Christ has made a home for us with Him, where the very last tear will be wiped away, and sin will be an enemy that will plague us no more. The text says quite plainly

Eye has not seen, nor ear heard,
Nor have entered into the heart of man…..that which God has prepared for thos who Love Him

We are to earthly minded still, as the old hymn said..”This world is not my home, I’m just a passing though”  We should not be making this our home, it is more like a place to learn how to love our God in the midst of adversity….We should make good use of the time as we are “passing through” God help us to look to Christ all the more these passing days, since one day we will see Him face to face, what a glorious thought!

Take courage, let us let go of this world and its things and look to Christ the only real true reality.
Having said this much, I need to say this as well, make no god of the issues you come across daily as I have come across many who do, it all comes down to this, repentance and faith, repentance and faith, in a God has Promised that He has prepared a place for us

Posted June 14, 2010 by Reformed and renewed in Devotional

Leave a Reply

