Rejoice! Christ is for you.   Leave a comment

It is most glorifying to our Lord Jesus Christ that we should hope for every good thing from Him alone. This is to treat Him as He deserves to be treated; for as He is God, and beside Him there is none else, we are bound to look unto Him and be saved.

This is to treat Him as He loves to be treated, for He bids all those who labor and are heavy laden to come to Him, and He will give them rest. To imagine that He cannot save to the uttermost is to limit the Holy One of Israel, and put a slur upon His power; or else to slander the loving heart of the Friend of sinners, and cast a doubt upon His love. In either case, we should commit a cruel and wanton sin against the tenderest points of His honor, which are His ability and willingness to save all that come unto God by Him. C. H Spurgeon.

This quote by Spurgeon has been quite delightful to me, since not only have I been on a sickbed but I have had much time to think upon the state of my sou. And there are a couple of things that cause me delight, first the confidence that the Bible is the very Word of God and may be relied on for absolutely everything.

Secondly as Spurgeon says here” It is most glorifying to our Lord Jesus Christ that we should hope for every good thing from Him alone”

I find it an amazing thing that I had for years sought some kind of goodness in myself to Christ, until I reached the end of my own efforts and looked to Christ, though the Law was given me a disapproving look, and the devil was taunting me with my failure, and my sin was just always before me.

“Imagaine that” as Spurgeon says, God Himself offers Peace to the heavy laden, the down trodden and the misfits, so I herein is my delight. That though all my world falls around about me, and it may, this world is not my home!  Christ is now my glory and the lifter of my head. For this reason I say with the Aposlte Paul, Rejoice ! and again I say Rejoice. Christ is for you!

Posted June 29, 2010 by Reformed and renewed in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

