Make it known that He is unique!   Leave a comment

Isaiah 12:1 At that time1 you will say:“I praise you, O Lord,for even though you were angry with me,your anger subsided, and you consoled me. Look, God is my deliverer!I will trust in him3 and not fear.For the Lord gives me strength and protects me;4he has become my deliverer.” Joyfully you will draw water from the springs of deliverance. At that time7 you will say:“Praise the Lord! Ask him for help!Publicize his mighty acts among the nations! Make it known that he is unique!

I have recently been reading through the book of Isaiah and this little cluster of verses seemed particularly encouraging to me at this time. There is first verse one, which states “ At that time1 you will say:“I praise you, O Lord,for even though you were angry with me,your anger subsided” Who has not felt this? Yet the rod of God’s anger fell on Christ and that for our sake. That gives reason for hope. Very much reason for hope.

“The Lord is my deliverer” or “my salvation” is pertinetn because even when I feel hopeless in myself I feel the power of these words, God is there to deliver me, even if only in the final deliverance which is from this life to life in His presence which is eternal. “ I will trsut and not fear” This to me speaks of eternal securitywhat can be more secure than to believe in the word God has spoken? This in times of despair sustains me, God is my deliverance, my salvation I shall trust and not fear.

The result of this has to be praise and rejoicing, God has been mercifull to us and not punished us as our sins deserve, just pause and think for a moment with me who has done this, …it is God Himself. The one whom no mind can capture and conceive save He reaveals Himself. Why would He do this for sinners who deserve His wrath? Because of His intense love for those He called to fear Him. With Isaiah I have to say…. Make it known that he is unique!

Posted August 16, 2010 by Reformed and renewed in Devotional

Leave a Reply

