Glory in This…   1 comment

Jeremiah 9:24 (New King James Version) 24 But let him who glories glory in this, That he understands and knows Me, That I am the LORD, exercising lovingkindness, judgment, and righteousness in the earth. For in these I delight,” says the LORD.

There are a few things in this life that deeply move me, and one of them is the knowledge that without the knowledge of God and the Grace of Jesus Christ I am nothing more than kindling for the fires of hell. When I consider myself I consider my weakness, my chronic illness and my depression that has been a great handicap in my life and I have this to say. “God meant it for good” I am not strong, and not wise, I fail frequently in my new years resolutions don’t last longer then the day I made them. But does this make me a candidate for heaven? I somehow don’t think so.

Many have such handicaps and worse and become bitter and resentful. Yet it is those who the world regards as beautiful, and successful that I think are more prone to damn themselves by their own self righteousness and self sufficiency. As It is I can make no such boast, I can look to the Cross of Jesus and their see my sins nailed to Calvary, I can look to heaven and see Christ exalted and see that He is my righteousness, I do not after all have any merit or any inherent value in myself. I do cry, “O that I may know Him!” But then there is the still deep seated moral corruptions in my soul and I am again weakened at the knees. I have come to see that the human heart is any abyss that is filled with corruptions that would fit it for hell anyday, it is only Christ’s mercy that upholds me, there is absolutely nothing I can add to either my justification or sanctification.

 Is this negative? I don’t think so, It is the realism that comes with conviction, the conviction that Christ alone can satisfy me, and that whatever the world offers, if nothing but candy coated rat poison. I rejoice in the fact that God still delights in exercising, loving kindness and judgment and righteousness, for this is then my hope as it should be yours also there is no hope in anything else, except in the Cross of Christ.

Posted October 25, 2010 by Reformed and renewed in Devotional

One response to “Glory in This…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well I like this post even if nobody else does.

Leave a Reply

